Foundation directory

Edwin and Jeanette May Foundation Grants

Private foundation · EIN 65-0501566 · IRS 990-PF filings through tax year 2025

Total grants paid
$2.7M
Grants reported
27
Typical grant
$75K
Future commitments

Reported commitments not yet paid.

Not reported

How to apply

This foundation publishes application instructions on its latest 990-PF and does not report restricting giving to preselected organizations. See more foundations that accept applications.

Contact
Brian S May
Deadlines
Not stated here. Consult the original filing and current funder guidelines.
Application materials
Not stated here. Consult the original filing and current funder guidelines.
Restrictions
Not stated here. Consult the original filing and current funder guidelines.
Original filing text
Contact
BRIAN S MAY
Address
615 ABBEY STREET BIRMINGHAM, MI, 48009
Phone
2487239033
Deadlines
NONE
Application materials
NONE
Restrictions
NONE

Reported organization name: EDWIN AND JEANETTE MAY FOUNDATION

Giving by tax year

Year-level totals across every reported grant in this profile — a summary, not a filter. The awards further down are the largest individual grants across all years, not each year's complete list.

Tax yearGrants paidAmount
202510$1.1M
202417$1.6M

Where Edwin and Jeanette May Foundation gives

States of grant recipients reported on the foundation's 990-PF filings, by dollars received.

Largest reported grants

Historical awards reported to the IRS. These are examples of past giving, not open opportunities.

Southwestern Community College

SYLVA, NC

$212.5KTax year 2025

Grant purpose

Charitable activities

Canines for Service

WILMINGTON, NC

$200KTax year 2025

Grant purpose

Charitable activities

Lees-Mcrae College

BANNER ELK, NC

$200KTax year 2024

Grant purpose

Charitable activities

Warrior Health Foundation

PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL

$200KTax year 2025

Grant purpose

Charitable activities

Canines for Service

WILMINGTON, NC

$200KTax year 2024

Grant purpose

Charitable activities

Showing 5 of the 25 largest grants (27 reported in all).

See all 27 grants from Edwin and Jeanette May Foundation: sort and filter by purpose, state and year.

Create free account

About this data

Figures are aggregated from Edwin and Jeanette May Foundation's IRS Form 990-PF electronic filings (2 filings on file, most recent tax year 2025). Totals reflect grants the foundation reported as paid, and can lag the current year because foundations file annually and often on extension. Source: IRS 990-PF filing on ProPublica. Raw e-file archive (ZIP) — a large IRS yearly archive download.

Other foundations giving in North Carolina

See all foundations giving in North Carolina

Free templates for applying to a foundation like this

New to this? Start with how to write a grant proposal, section by section. This profile is built from IRS 990-PF filings — read how the directory was assembled, or see what GrantCue does and what it costs.

Track Edwin and Jeanette May Foundation and see all 27 of its reported grants

Add Edwin and Jeanette May Foundation to your funder list with notes and a contact log, filter every grant it reported, and search all 127,000+ foundation profiles alongside live federal and state opportunities. Free for one user, no card required.

Create free account